Apple to berry … the 1 month round-up

My latest and greatest addiction

WTF ?

The iPhone, apple’s latest and greatest gadget, has drasticly changed how we percieve cellphones anno 2008. It might shock you but, despite being the hardcore apple fanboy that I am, I decided to switch over to a blackberry. Some call it blasphemy, others call it a downgrade … I for one, am sold.

I think the major trigger for my switch was 2.0 software, which made the iPhone waaaaay slower than 1.1.4. Combine that with the fact that I had totally had it with that broken screen of mine and you get me running over to the dark side.

So I started looking online and found a sweet deal: a second hand 8707v, like new (really, I don’t think it was ever used) for € 150. It’s an older model that doesn’t have the trackball like the new models, GPS, a camera or media capabilities, but for a blackberry-newbie like me, it’s perfect.

THE PRO’S

  • push e-mail: e-mail is VERY important for a geek like me, it’s the last thing I check before I go to sleep and the first thing I do when I get up. The blackberry internet services work seemlessly, the split second it arrives on your server it’s there with you on the go.
  • twitterberry: I’ll admit, I am a twitter addict and twitterberry just does it for me, unlike twinkle and other iPhone-based twitter apps that are on the slow side or just take up too much data.
  • facebook: same thing, no fancy shmancy stuff … just the stuff you really and it works without losing skipping a beat.
  • keyboard: let’s just say that I thought I was fast with my iPhone’s on-screen keyboard, that’s until I tried a blackberry keyboard, there’s just something about tack-tile buttons.
  • coverage: the 8707v was blackberry’s first 3G model and I’ve noticed that the 3G reception is better than the iPhone 3G.
  • battery: this is the first smartphone I use that can go for 3 days or more, despite the fact that I’m using it non-stop.
  • call quality: the blackberry sounds great when on calls and has a nifty little feature, it amplifies your own voice just a bit, which is very handy when making a call in noisy conditions.

THE CON’S

  • form factor: my model, the 8707v, is a bit on the chuncky side, however, newer models like the bold have way sleeker design.
  • OS: the 4.3 OS has it’s limits and quirks, I’m interested to see what the latest OS on a bold holds for me.
  • vibrate: the 8707 v has a very loud and sometimes annoying vibrate function.
  • desktop software: sadly enough no official blackberry desktop software for the mac. Good thing the Pocketmac people offer a great alternative.
Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Apple to berry … the 1 month round-up”

  1. Jan says :

    The keyboard is one of the reasons I switched back to my berry (that and the batterylife), love it.
    PocketMac can go both ways, it messed my ical every time I synced, using Missing Sync now (not free thou).

  2. Gil says :

    I tried missing sync first but after constant error messages (even after resetting the sync history) I decided to give Pocketmac a try and it’s been working great for me so far.

Leave a Reply

