Multi-media living: continued …

gva.jpg

Not that long ago, I witnessed a fire not far from my home. My favourite Italian place went up in flames. I didn’t have my camera with me but was able to snap a few decent shots with my iPhone. I rushed home and about 20 minutes after, I had written an article on a local blog and uploaded the pictures to flickr.

A week later I was contacted by someone from “De Gazet Van Antwerpen“, a Belgian newspaper, to ask me if they could use one of my pictures to go with a follow-up story. They promised to mention my full name and the blog I posted my article on and did so.

What I’m tryin to get at … thanks to the internet, journalism no longer only belongs to professionals, any decent photographer/writer can put news out there on the web, sometimes way before the newspapers mention it on their sites or on paper. Now, I’m not saying that newspapers are obsolete, far from, but they’re are starting to understand that they should be open to alternative sources like blogs.

The “Jongerenmedia Agentschap” which C.H.I.P.S. VZW is erecting nicely ties in to that. The goal of this organisation is to give young people from the Antwerp region between the ages of 16 and 26 a chance to get the media they create out to the masses by , for example, offering legal assistance and a gateway to mainstream media.

If you think this has your name written all over it, don’t hesitate going over to the Jongerenmedia Agentschap website and signing up for the free workshops from the 25th ’til the 28th of march @ Trix Music Center in Borgerhout.

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “Multi-media living: continued …”

  1. Gert-Jan says :

    Zalig dat ze u daarvoor contacteren en dat u naam vermeld wordt. Blijkbaar al heel wa promotie gemaakt en gekregen de laatste tijd eerst die bwards , nu gva :p.

Leave a Reply

