Edit: the political pigs tried to censor Pink Floyd !

Update: I’d like to thank Yonatan for giving me the full story on animals :

Yonatan said:

Actually, the sheep are supposed to be the workers. Dogs are used to represent the megalomaniac businessmen who are finished by being dragged down by ‘the weight they used to need to throw around’. Pigs refers to politicians and opinion leaders, with direct references to Mary Whitehouse, who at the time (1977), was making considerable efforts to censor Pink Floyd’s music, because of its political overtones. Those who do not fall into either of these two categories are sheep, who follow blindly, without any self-thought.

As always, all reader-input is welcome !

Battersea Power Station

I am just fascinated by the Battersea Power Station. I was listening to my Animals-record (by Pink Floyd, you should know this album, If you don’t I suggest you buy it). Anway, as pigs on the wing part one kicked in I took another good look at the cover. I remember the first time I saw it when I discovered the record on my grandparents’ attic. It used to be my mother’s. I remember how it struck me the first time I saw it. I couldn’t really grasp the symbolism of it all before I did some research, if you hadn’t already derived it from the title … The pig that floats high above the factory stands for the capitalist pig that guards over the old coal-fired power plant which is a clear symbol of (heavy) industry. Being the 11-year old I was when I first saw this cover I of course just thought it made reference to the title of the album and since all the songs are about sheep, dogs, pigs … heck it made a whole lot of sense to me. But of course when you listen to the lyrics very closely you get more insight into the message that is behind these songs. I’m no damn expert in this, hell no, I’m 18 and pretty unexperienced in the capitalist world and all that … But in my opinion I think that the song dogs makes a reference to the workers perhaps, who are given the sack or, in the case of the dog, left behind. I could go deeper into this but I don’t think my thoughts on it would make much sense … but I’d like to get the discussion going though, for those who lived all of this and can place it in it’s own context and time, I would really like to hear your opinions on this, so feel free to comment.

Anyway this post was the consequence of one cover …
This one …

One response to “Edit: the political pigs tried to censor Pink Floyd !”

  1. Jonathan says :

    Actually, the sheep are supposed to be the workers. Dogs are used to represent the megalomaniac businessmen who are finished by being dragged down by ‘the weight they used to need to throw around’. Pigs refers to politicians and opinion leaders, with direct references to Mary Whitehouse, who at the time (1977), was making considerable efforts to censor Pink Floyd’s music, because of its political overtones. Those who do not fall into either of these two categories are sheep, who follow blindly, without any self-thought.

Leave a Reply

