Movies to see and joy to spread …

After 4 days of taking things easy I’m completely reloaded to head back into the classroom for another week. After that it will be 3 weeks of cramming all those pounds of knowledge from the paper into my cranium.
In the last two days I saw 2 films I haven’t seen in the last 6 to 8 years and itwas wonderful to see them again. First off, I am talking about Escape From New York, John Carpenter’s cult-classic from 1981. For those who haven’t seen it yet. In the year 1988 (my year of birth by the way) manhattan island is turned into the New York Maximum Security Prison, a brick wall is built around it and several guard-post are constructed. In 1997, rebels take over airforce one and crash it into manhattan. Attempts of the authority to rescue him only endanger him (and world peace with him) even more, this sounds like a job for Snake Plissken … I’m not gonna tell you more about the movie but I recommend you see it.
A second one I saw was Sneakers, a computer related movie without getting to geeky, I won’t go into the plot but it is worth mentioning that the main character is played by Robert Redford and that Dan Akroyd (known from Ghostbusters) takes care of the humor.
The holidays are getting closer, after spending most of my money on gifts, I have created my own (and pretty short) wishlist.
1) A DV-Camera (Sony Handycam)
2) The Nintendo Wii + Wii Play
That’s it really :p, I really fell in love with the Wii and think that it has a lot of potential. Let’s hope that the developers will use this innovative piece of technology to it’s limits.
Any suggestions on which model of a camera to take is always welcome. I shot a bunch of video with a pretty standard Handycam last year for my 100-days show in school. After looking at the edited footage again I decided that it might be interesting to get into video a little bit, that explains my sudden interest for a video-camera. I might share these video’s with you some time.

That’s it for now. Sorry for all the scatter-brain .. it’ s late …

Later

Gil

Leave a Reply

